Tuesday, August 31, 2010

2011 Angelicum Alumni Achievement Award

Angelicum Alumnus The Most Rev. Peter Smith, J.C.D.
Archbishop of Southwark, U.K., has been named the 2011 Angelicum Alumni Achievement Awardee.

Please join us Sunday April 10, 2011 beginning at 6:00p.m. for the Second Angelicum Alumni Achievement Award Fundraising Dinner as we honor the Archbishop of Southwark, U.K. who has distinguished himself by serving the Church's mission in exceptional ways. To receive a formal invitation with further details please e-mail us at: prpust@yahoo.com.

Archbishop Peter Smith was born in Battersea on 21st October 1943. He completed his secondary education at Clapham College and gained his degree (LLB) from Exeter University in 1966. He studied for the priesthood at St John's Seminary, Wonersh, and was ordained Priest on 5th July 1972.

His first appointment was as an assistant priest at St Francis, Stockwell (1972 - 1974). In 1977 he gained his Doctorate in Canon Law (JCD) from the Pontifical University of St Thomas Aquinas in Rome and became Professor of Canon Law at St John's Seminary (1977 - 1984). He was parish priest of St Andrew's, Thornton Heath, (1984 - 1985) and Rector at St John's Seminary from 1985 - 1995.

He was appointed as Bishop of East Anglia in 1995 and Archbishop of Cardiff in 2001. On 30th April 2010, the Holy Father announced that he would succeed Archbishop Kevin McDonald as the tenth Archbishop of Southwark.He was installed at St George's Cathedral, Southwark on Thursday, 10th June 2010.

Archbishop Peter is Vice-President of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales. Since 1998, he has been Chairman of the Department of Christian Responsibility and Citizenship of the Bishops' Conference.

His previous responsibilities have been as Chairman of the Catholic Truth Society (1993 - 2007) and Chairman of the Central Religious Advisory Committee (CRAC) of the BBC and ITC (2001 - 2004).

He was appointed Sub-Prelate and Chaplain of the Order of St John of Jerusalem in 2002.

He has been awarded Honorary Fellowships at St Edmund's College, Cambridge (1997), the University of Wales, Lampeter (2004) and Cardiff University (2006).