Wednesday, November 17, 2010

U.S. Bishops Elect Angelicum Alumnus as New President of the USCCB

The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) elected Archbishop Timothy Dolan of New York, and alumnus of the Angelicum, as their new president and Archbishop Joseph Kurtz of Louisville, Kentucky vice president at their annual Fall General Assembly.

Archbishop Dolan, who succeeds Cardinal Francis George of Chicago as president of the USCCB, was elected 128-111 on the third ballot in a run-off with Bishop Gerald Kicanas of Tucson, Arizona. Archbishop Kurtz was elected 147-91 on the third vice presidential ballot in a run-off with Archbishop Charles Chaput, OFM Cap., of Denver. Archbishop Dolan and Archbishop Kurtz begin their three-year terms as president and vice president at the conclusion of this week’s meeting.

The bishops elected Bishop Michael Bransfield of Wheeling-Charleston, West Virginia to serve as USCCB treasurer-elect of the USCCB in a 123-114 vote over Bishop Paul Bradley of Kalamazoo. As Archbishop Kurtz is vacating the office of treasurer to assume the vice presidency, the bishops affirmed by acclamation that Bishop Bransfield assume the office immediately.

The bishops voted for the chairmen-elect of six committees who will begin their three-year chairmanships in November 2011. The bishops elected:

* Archbishop Edwin O’Brien of Baltimore, and alumnus of the Angelicum, to chair the Committee on International Justice and Peace.* Archbishop Timothy Broglio of the Archdiocese for Military Services to chair the Committee on Canonical Affairs and Church Governance.
* Bishop Joseph McFadden of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania to chair the Committee on Catholic Education.
* Bishop Denis J. Madden, auxiliary bishop of Baltimore, to chair the Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs.
* Bishop David L. Ricken of Green Bay, Wisconsin, to chair the Committee on Evangelization and Catechesis.
* Bishop Daniel Conlon of Steubenville, Ohio, to chair the Committee on Child and Youth Protection.